• Changing RCF's index page, please click on "Forums" to access the forums.

Expansion in MLB

Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Steve_424

Hall-of-Famer
Reaction score
It was mentioned in the Trade Deadline thread and I'm interested in discussing further how MLB might look once they inevitably expand once again.

First, some possible expansion cities: Montreal, Portland, Charlotte, Mexico City, San Antonio, Las Vegas, and Nashville, to name a few. I'll go with Montreal and Portland for fun.

My Proposal:

AL East: Yankees, Red Sox, Blue Jays, Orioles
AL Central: Indians, White Sox, Tigers, Twins
AL South: Rays, Rangers, Marlins, Royals
AL West: Angels, A's, Mariners, Portland

NL East: Mets, Phillies, Pirates, Expos
NL Central: Cubs, Brewers, Cardinals, Reds
NL South: Braves, Nationals, Astros, Rockies
NL West: Dodgers, Giants, Padres, Diamondbacks

The Braves will never let Charlotte or Nashville get a team.

As a Middle Tennessee resident, I have a very hard time believing Nashville will be in any serious running for an MLB team. The Sounds just got a new ballpark three years ago and the Braves have a very good hold on the market here. Plus with the MLS coming to Nashville, I don't think the city could support 4 major pro sports franchises.

Manfred said last year they're holding off expansion until Oakland and Tampa get new stadiums. If that's true then they're never going to expand.

Portland would be cool.. So would Oklahoma City

Manfred said last year they're holding off expansion until Oakland and Tampa get new stadiums. If that's true then they're never going to expand.

Might be posturing, might also be looking at two franchises soon to be relocated.

I just can’t see Oakland, Miami, Tampa holding on...

The Marlins thought all of the following would work:

• New stadium would work (stadium is trash btw)
  • Free agency splash would work (It did not)