• Changing RCF's index page, please click on "Forums" to access the forums.

Going back to school

Do Not Sell My Personal Information

BMAN

All-Star
Reaction score
So I’m 26 and I’ve been working at a bigger company in Ohio for the past 4 years working in one of their warehouses. Pay is ok and it’s easy, but I just don’t want to do this for the rest of my career.

A couple days ago I finally started to realize what I would want to do. I’ve decided on majoring in computer science since that stuff has always interested me. My company pays up to $5500 a year for reimbursement and computer science falls under one of the degrees they would pay for. There’s also job openings for that line of work.

Would this be a good idea or would I be making a mistake? I’ve been hesitant to go back to school, but finally feel like I should pull the trigger. I’m not getting any younger and don’t have kids yet.

I went back at 25 to get a teaching degree because I knew I didn't want to keep doing what I was doing. It was the best thing I ever did. Found my passion.

If you're not happy doing what you're doing, do something else. If that's computer science, great, sounds like you're legitimately interested in that.

Just don't limit yourself to what the company will pay for.

So I’m 26 and I’ve been working at a bigger company in Ohio for the past 4 years working in one of their warehouses. Pay is ok and it’s easy, but I just don’t want to do this for the rest of my career.

A couple days ago I finally started to realize what I would want to do. I’ve decided on majoring in computer science since that stuff has always interested me. My company pays up to $5500 a year for reimbursement and computer science falls under one of the degrees they would pay for. There’s also job openings for that line of work.