• Changing RCF's index page, please click on "Forums" to access the forums.

Stand-up Comedy

Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Kbiz

Situational Showstopper
Reaction score
Considering seeing Craig Robinson in Columbus in April. The Funny Bone comedy club brings in some A-list level stand-up guys consistently and i'd like to start taking advantage of it.

Figured i'd start a thread to discuss everyone's favorite comedians. Who've you seen? Who impressed you? Who disappointed you? Have you met any comedians in person? What was that like?

I was fortunate that Will Ferrell's Funny or Die tour came to Ohio State when i was a student so i got to go fo' free. Had an incredible lineup of Zach Galifianakis, Nick Swardson, and Demetri Martin. This was back in 08-09 when Martin had his own Comedy Central show and Galifianakis was a few years away from blowing up. Zach stole the show, Swardson was about as expected, and Martin was just ok...never was a big fan of his dead-pan style to begin with.

However the highlight of the night was when Will Ferrell came out in full Ron Burgundy glory (mustache and all) and interviewed OSU's president at the time. Their bit revolved around them growing up together and our president at the time was as a beloved eccentric amongst students so it worked to perfection...was a surreal moment. Ferrell had incredible stage presence and basically MC'd the entire evening while doing a few jokes in-between sets. If he wasn't so famous, he would've had an excellent stand-up career.

Aside from being spoiled by that one night, i haven't really seen anyone else perform live so I am curious to hear everyone's thoughts / experiences as i look to step up my stand-up game.